RSS

A man who writes poems about poems is possessed (bye-bye Myers)

05 Sep
A man who writes poems about poems is possessed (bye-bye Myers)

Jules (Beveridge) helped me launch my poetry bark in June.
I want to tell you that
there came a monstrous tide, and
I had a wondrous ride on that first voyage.
That tide came to a flood at the end of August;this is the story of a monstrous tide and my wondrous ride.

A man who writes poems about poems is possessed

2 hours and 2 days into the flood of the tide, Judy held her collective breath for the 50th time, and waited

for the final utterance, SPOKEN IN ONE STRANGE WORD

one lady felt the rhythm <> bit her lip a little <> and bobbed her head
and the band saw started up

if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it

and i think ‘yeah so what?’ but I hear the other voice <> the angel mother voice <> and the words are otherwise

it’s alright <> it’s alright

and the child in me knows <> that it is indeed all right <> and always it will be
and I look back at the first voice and see the shadow of your smile
and a twinkle in the eye
did she wink?

And I think ‘she did that deliberate ly’
and ‘did I say that out loud?’
and ‘can I listen to them both together??’
and ‘why did I think that was an angel voice?’
that voice is a burnished instrument
and she’s a surgeon.

bewitched bothered and bewildered …

and just when I want to tell them <> I can’t hear them both together
they will get me on their wavelength <> and they prove that they can make me
sister golden hair surprise sings

if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it <> if they don’t get it

and

it’s alright <> it’s alright

while the band saw has become talcum powder red dust of the far outback grade sandpaper and
is inside my head re-arranging and re-shaping everything with

don’t be scared of what’s inside you

and

don’t be scared to blow your own mind
which sounds like

don’t

be

scared

to

blow

your

own

mind

and there is a third voice – the secret silent synergistic voice is saying
“one day, John woke up (to himself) and set out on a big poetry adventure”
but by the time I heard that

I was lost at sea.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 5 September, 2010 in Photographs, POEMS, poetry

 

One response to “A man who writes poems about poems is possessed (bye-bye Myers)

  1. calmackinnon

    21 September, 2010 at 9:23 am

    the sounds of your own voice travels further, over the warm fuzz haze of the top of the sea and echo back to you…’no don’t be afraid of your own talent John’. you clever fella. love it – cal

     

Leave a Reply

 
