RSS

proud to announce I was selected as call-back-poet at SpeedPoets on Saturday

29 Jul

I read this poem, which is a work in progress and has many working titles and no names:

This poem has many parts.  They are numbered.  I don’t know how many there are, because I haven’t counted them.

 i-squared (-1).

Tum-titty, tum-ti, tum-ti
Tum-ti, tum-titty, tum-ti
Tum-ti, tum-ti, tum-titty
Tum-titty, tum-titty.

 All of my incarnations
banquet together, elsewhere.
They call to me, endlessly,
from beyond perception.

 As I join the banquet, they
hand me a glass that is full.
All I perceive, they remove,
saying that it’s still full.

 All of my incarnations
dine in emotion and thought,
feed dark energy discourse
into the universe.

 They say, “that which you cannot
perceive, conceive, or believe,
comes from your dark matter mind,
through your intuition.”

 All of my incarnations
and I, with never a thought
of drowning, leave the banquet
to surf the tsunami

of the Big Bang across the
ever accelerating
Tum-ti, tum-ti, tum-titty
Tum-titty, universe.

 i

so it says
tum-titty – tum-titty – tum-titty –
tum-ti – tum-ti – tum-ti
– so enjoy!

1 (i  squared squared)

The sound of the Big Bang was audible then, when the density ruled over all.

The sound is waving through time and place.
I know the rise and fall.

 Dark matter is moving apart, we can tell, and speeding away at a pace that can’t be.

Rational perception cannot reveal
what it is that defies gravity.

 Through the forest, I follow the shades
in the corner of my eye.

They are rising up to greet me,
to forbid me to perceive.

 Now I sink to the bed of air miles deep, and 
I float on the water miles high.

 2

All of my incarnations, always,
banquet together, elsewhere.
From beyond perception they call me
“be with us – be with us in here”

 So I follow the dead in peripheral vision
the unborn whisper beyond the ear, and 
I track down the herb with the freshness of vacuum that grows so insensibly clear. 

So I seek to be blind and I strive to hear nought
with no scent and no taste and no feel.

So we can be together and know where it is
in the darkness when all is revealed.

Now free of the surface I journey
in the gas or the liquid or space
to the place where we all eat together:
and discourse with intuitive grace.

3

The time and the place are all unlit and quiet
which the telescopes cannot see:

and the tick of the clock is a choir of the mute and the word “clock” is awkward and free.

Free of the meaning the language has tied it to, free of the charges of age,

free of the thrusting rape of the tide,
and free as the word with no page. 

Oh! Free of the gravity, free of the density,
free of the surface no boundaries we see:

all of my incarnations and me. 
We sense nothing

\

everything.

4

My concurrent incarnations
know the matter that is dark and light. 

And the banquet never ends,
and the time ever bends :

and we will not
perceive the inconceivable

until we
conceive of the imperceptible.

5

The endless banquet is joined now
where density rules the waves 
where I feast with my incarnations
with never a thought of graves.

-6*i-squared

or maybe it says
tum-titty – tum-titty – tum-titty –
tum-ti – tum-ti – tum-ti

 – so enjoy!

7

All of my incarnations banquet together,
elsewhere.
They call to me,
endlessly,
from beyond perception.

As I join the banquet, they hand me a glass that is 
e
   m
       p
          t
             y

 

Here I am trying to impress our Canadian visitor, Shane Rhodes.Image

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 29 July, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “proud to announce I was selected as call-back-poet at SpeedPoets on Saturday

  1. gnunn

    29 July, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Congrats again JDub!

     
    • JdUb

      29 July, 2013 at 10:20 pm

      thanks, Graham

       
  2. a rawlings

    29 July, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    So excellent, John! I’m thrilled to read this continuation of your moon work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
