RSS

APOLLO ELEVENSES

22 Nov

APOLLO ELEVENSES

each morning she had
“at eleven o’clock!”
a small bottle of Guiness

in 1969 she turned 87
in May –
from Victoria to Elizabeth
was quite a ride –
and I turned 20 the
very next day.

At the end of July*
a ghost like figure
slid down the right
of a little screen.

“Is he Irish?”
“He’s American, Nan”
“Let’s drink his health.
It’s an Irish name.”
“Here’s to Neil Armstrong,” I said
“That’s one small step…” said Neil
and I didn’t hear the rest.
“They hadn’t even flown
when I was born,” said Nan.

*TV
was 17 years old
Beatles
Stones
JFK
Bobby
Martin Luther King
Vietnam
Mods and Rockers
World Cup
Northern Ireland
free love
flower power
race riots
Coronation Street
all on black and white
TV

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 22 November, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “APOLLO ELEVENSES

  1. John Stevens

    23 November, 2013 at 8:35 am

    That’s a great title! And nicely carried through as well.

     
    • JdUb

      23 November, 2013 at 9:04 am

      Thank you John. And thanks for hanging on through my not-blogging period.
      Nice to my my follower is still following!

       
  2. slpmartin

    24 November, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    Quite like the poem….very effective IMHO.

     
  3. Thomas Davis

    18 February, 2014 at 7:42 am

    The thought of going from a time when horse drawn carriages were still used to Neil Armstrong on the moon is amazing. I like this: The thought, but also the list of things that bring the thought home. Ralph Waldo Emerson, in his essay on the poet, said that to a sensitive mind even lists could have great meaning, and you prove that here. I also like the conversation. It makes real the 87 year old. What made this poem especially meaningful to me is that my mother is 87. I had not thought about the events of her times so much until I read this, and my new novel is even based, lightly, on some of the events from her life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
